Our History

Become A Member

TAOA Leadership Team

President:  Lisa Ping-Hui Lin

Vice President:  Po Chang

Treasurer: Jessica Tsing

Secretary: Phyllis Jen Yurn  Kung, Kanok Li

The Board Member

Dongxun Zhang  (Austin)

John Su (Austin)

Linda Meng-Sheng Lin  (Dallas)

Chung-Hwei Chernly (Dallas)

Ying Cao (Dallas)

Wei Cheng Huang (Dallas)

Tong Ling (Houston)

Roberto Guerrero (San Antonio)


2003-2005: The 2005 legislative session in Texas will be the Sunset Year for acupuncture law in Texas. Please be a part of this history and support acupuncture in Texas!

1992-1993: The TAOA led two other associations in Dallas and Houston to lobby for acupuncture legality in the sunset legislature. The bill which passed May 18th 1993 at 11:00 am, resulted in the establishment of the Texas State Board of Acupuncture examiners. On January 22, 1994, the first Acupuncture Board meeting was held.

1986: Representing the Association, Paul Ling, Tiong Lin and Panda Lee of Houston, along with Paul C.K. and Lisa P.H. Lin, filed another lawsuit against the TSBME and their Board members, charging violation of antitrust laws and other issues. Board Chair Dr. Garcia resigned from the Board.

1982-1984: Paul C.K. and Lisa P.H. Lin, with the support of the Association, challenged the TSBME’s rule requiring medical doctor supervision of acupuncturists as unconstitutional. This battle was won when Attorney General Jim Mattox Issued Attorney General Opinion #JM125

1979: A group of consumers filed the first lawsuit against the Texas State Board of Medical Examiners (TSBME) in federal court. Judge MacDonald ruled that consumers have the right to health care treatments and services of their own choosing. This ruling also established the definition of acupuncture as a practice of medicine.